In 1950, Ralph Moody enrolled in a writing class at a local community college and was inspired to write his first book, Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers. The book went on to serve as the first of an eight book series chronicling Ralph’s childhood, certain moments of his adolescence, and his young adulthood. Many have called it Little House on the Prairie for boys. It is a fair comparison, but it is so much more than that as well.

As of right now, we have 6 of the 8 books reviewed. We will update this page as we add the final two books.

Books well suited to family read aloud:

Little Britches #1: Father and I Were Ranchers

Little Britches #2: Man of the Family

Little Britches #3: The Home Ranch

Little Britches #4: Mary Emma and Company


Books that parents may wish to preview:

Little Britches #5: Fields of Home

Little Britches #6: Shaking the Nickel Bush

Books that are a bit more mature as they deal with Ralph’s young adulthood:

Little Britches #7: The Dry Divide

Little Britches #8: Horse of a Different Color