Posted in Book Lovers Community

Kickstarter Add-Ons

Recently we wrote a post about how and why authors and small publishers are using Kickstarter to launch their new books into the world. Crowdfunding is a marvelous way for us readers to help support authors, illustrators and publishers who are bringing our kinds of stories into the world.

Some Kickstarters make use of the “Add-on” feature. We get a lot of questions about how to make those work. We thought that it might be helpful to have a short post about how to add-on to a pledge.

When Kickstarter backers want to take advantage of multiple rewards, they really have 2 main options: create another account or make use of the project’s designated add-ons.

In the recent Ember Falls Kickstarter, many of us wanted to be able to get several swords for our #rabbitswithswords loving children. To accomplish that, we opened multiple KS accounts. Each account needs a valid email address.

Some campaigns, however, have a menu of Add-On options. In the Wishes of the Fish King Kickstarter, Doug and Jamin offered a series of extras that could be added onto the backer’s base pledge. Backers keep their pledge level, use the “manage pledge” option and add the dollar amount of their desired add-ons onto their base pledge.

Here’s an example:

Sara backed at the Imperial Library level – $50. Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 4.29.57 PM

Because I want to add 2 Family Journals to my base pledge, I added $40 to my pledge. I clicked on the blue “Manage” button and it took me to this screen:

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 4.30.11 PM

At this screen, I added $40 to my $50 pledge. I clicked “Change your pledge” and now I am committing to buying those journals.

There is nowhere inside of Kickstarter to specify which add-ons you are selecting. You need to keep track of that on your own. When the campaign is over, Kickstarter will send you a survey asking for you to detail your add ons.

In fact, I love a lot of the add-ons for this campaign. Since I have multiple Kickstarter accounts, I will be buying the new Royal Baby Bundle for some baby gifts and I will be adding a set of prints onto one of my base pledges.

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 4.06.41 PM

What a wonderful system this is! We get to support authors, illustrators and publishers we believe in while also buying beautiful gifts for friends and family.

Leave a Reply

